<< See all video items



Summary Stage 13 Tour de France 2017

15th July 2017

George Bennett slipped to eleventh on GC at the Tour de France because he says he “just wasn’t good enough” to stay with the likes of race leader Fabio Aru and defending champion Chris Froome on the tough short 13th stage to Foix but vows “it’s not over yet.”


The day sarted on a better  note for George when the UCI overturned the decision by race officials to penalise him 20 seconds on stage 12 but he ended the short 101-kilometre stage in 22nd place, 2:20 minutes back from the classification leaders. Warren Barguil won the stage.


“I just was not good enough today,” Bennett said. “The plan was to follow. I thought I would be stronger in the final because I felt quite good, but on that steep part I had a bad moment."


“Even if you just drop, a big group like that just rips time out of you. I was by myself. There was nothing I could do about it. I am disappointed, but there are still eight stages to go. I have to go full-gas on the Galibier or the Izoard stage. It is not over yet. I am going to recover and hope to be there again in a few days in the mountains.”


stage 13 1


“Something like this can happen,” his Lotto Jumbo Sports Director Frans Maassen said. “It is a pity it happens, you hope he is able to ride as good as he did the other days."


“Today was a very though day. From the start to the finish the GC favourites went full-gas."


“Contador and Quintana were much stronger than yesterday, but a top-10 position is not lost already. We have to see how we get back there because I know George is able to finish in the first 10 in Paris. Maybe tomorrow someone else has a bad day. It is still possible.”


stage 13 2


1              BARGUIL Warren              Team Sunweb                   2:36:29

2              QUINTANA Nairo              Movistar Team                  ,,

3              CONTADOR Alberto          Trek - Segafredo               ,,

4              LANDA Mikel                     Team Sky                         02

5              YATES Simon                      ORICA-Scott                   1:39

6              MARTIN Daniel                  Quick-Step Floors             ,,

7              KWIATKOWSKI  Michal   Team Sky                          1:48

8              FROOME Christopher         Team Sky                          ,,

9              ARU Fabio                           Astana Pro Team               ,,

10           URAN Rigoberto                  Cannondale-Drapac          ,,

11           BARDET Romain                 AG2R La Mondiale          ,,

12           MEINTJES Louis                  UAE Team Emirates        ,,

22           BENNETT George               Team LottoNL-Jumbo      4:08


© Amaury Sport Organisation - www.aso.fr

📷 A.S.O. / Pauline Ballet